PDA

View Full Version : Javelin Tank Explosion

pauldublin
10-08-2009, 04:28 PM
Hi guys, here's a shot I have just finished (it took an age to do!), my main aim was to learn Fumefx and do a convincing explosion, and comp it agianst a bg plate. Hope you like it, feel free to critique.

Cheers,

Paul

http://www.vimeo.com/6951769

FattyGrissle
10-08-2009, 09:17 PM
Cool! I liked it. Im a huge fan of things getting blown up.
Im no expert, but I feel like the camera shake should be a bit more violent when the shockwave hits. Right now it bobs up and down a bit, but if the camera motions were tighter and faster, it would give the explosion a feeling of a lot more force.
I think it looks awesome though!! Im just being picky..

pauldublin
10-08-2009, 10:38 PM
Thank you for the comments Aaron, you're right about that, it should be a bit more shakey at that stage. Only thing is I'd have to render all the passes again :( Maybe If I get time I'd fix that

I've learnt alot of things from doing this shot, so the next one will be better!

Thanks again

Paul

homer4lyfe
10-09-2009, 12:30 AM
Cool stuff. Nice work.

I would say for the violence of the explosion there needed to be a few more tank fragments flying. It looks like it kinda just disappears. Maybe a flying mangled chunk of turret?

Also the fire at the end burning on the wrecked tank didnt quite look real. It looked like a smaller fire, like a camp fire, but on a large tank.

Other than that, great job.

pauldublin
10-09-2009, 09:56 AM
Thanks Nathan,

That fire is way off, I'm going to fix it when I get the time though

cheers!

HocusPocus
10-09-2009, 12:09 PM
Really nice shot!

not only the explosion, but the integration with the background... lights and render are very good!
Congrats!!:thumbsup:

pauldublin
10-09-2009, 02:34 PM
Thank alot Ivan,

That was important for me, getting it to sit into the bg plate, it was good fun to work on!

Cheers for the comment!

Paul

Jeremydjutras
10-09-2009, 03:51 PM