PDA

View Full Version : BSc(HONS) Computer Animation

Corcs
10-08-2009, 04:17 PM
Hi I'm new to this forum!

I'm thinking of studying Computer Animation next year at either London Metropolitan University or University of Bedfordshire and I'm just wondering would this course be worth doing and? Is is difficult to get into and what are the career prospects? I have pretty much no experience in art so would this make the course much harder? How hard would the course be?

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! :thumbsup:

DanielWray
10-09-2009, 11:47 AM
I'm studying this course at northumbria university, so the course modules may be a little different.

So far (I've only been there a few weeks) I've gathered that the first year is really, pretty useless if you don't put effort into practicing art and 3D in your own time. The first year is really just about getting everyone up to scratch with the basics, and i mean the basics, recording sound, recording video, taking photos, a little bit of programming here and there. But not much art/ animation going on at all, which is dissapointing, but after all it is a Bsc, so it's more about the technical side, that is why the working outside in your own time is crucial. The second year does go into 2D/ 3D animation and modeling, but I'm guessing this will just be how to use the software etc.

If you already have a grasp on 3D modeling and animation (You don't need to be a pro, just know enough so during the classes you can get on with your own thing and produce work for your reel etc) then I'd say having the four years to develop and having that degree will open doors for you, this may not be instant access to a studio (that really depends on your reel) but the degree will make working abroad easier, so I've heard.

Corcs
10-09-2009, 02:24 PM
Thanks great reply!

Did you need a portfolio or anything like that when you applied?

DanielWray
10-09-2009, 05:38 PM
No problem :)