PDA

View Full Version : CG Artists: Nerds with a creative side or Artists with a geeky side?

Aevium Viemme
08-11-2003, 02:22 AM
I've always run into this dilemma while talking to other CG people. I'm really a middle-ground, I've been using computers as much as I've been an artist, so it's really hard to classify me, but most other artists I know are either artists who are computer-savvy or nerds with an artistic spark.

What do you think?

erilaz
08-11-2003, 02:29 AM
"Computer Geeks" and Artists are both creative. I always use the example of John Romero and John Carmack of ID. Romero is an artist of design. He pulls together great creatures and levels while making the tools to do the job. Carmack is a programming artist. He can come up with creative ways of handling graphics that is outside the realm of what most programmers can think of. They're both creative geniuses, and in my opinon, both artists, regardless of the fact that Romero is a gaming super-freak and Carmack is a programming zealot.

So just tell 'em you're an artist and be done with it.:D

Hookflash
08-11-2003, 02:59 AM
From what I've seen, the most talented CG people are the ones who are artists first and computer enthusiasts second. For example, the ones who are able to draw and/or paint well are usually able to transfer their artistic abilities to a computer screen as well. Pure geeks, on the other hand, learn the app very quickly, but never really create anything with high artistic value. Imho, of coarse;).

Icarus
08-11-2003, 03:44 AM
i really dislike the generalised status of being called a "nerd"

Everything has a name, why cant people just use it, unsted of making it sound like a 3rd class use, they are all generalised, and it shits me, but... "artists" have their place, Yes, but sadly enough these days, its becoming the state of "You Use a Computer?... NERD", well well well. As the use of CG is more widly used in todays society,