PDA

View Full Version : Car Modeling Help Really struggling!

DavidMansaray
09-24-2009, 10:41 AM
Hey Im fairly new to maya and fairly new to the forum. Im finding it dificult to get on with car modeling which is my focus at the moment. I'm familiar with many of the tools in maya and the interface and how everything works. i pretty much know all that i have to do from start to finish but i dont seem to get the results i want. Im really finding it difficult to decide the right place to put the initial curves. ive watched doesons of tutorias and i can follow along ok but seem to go blank when it comes to me doing it by myself any tips from you experienced folks?

Thanks in advance for any responces

ronviers
09-25-2009, 04:48 AM
Reference images, even the worst ones, contain a lot of information. Unfortunately, it is often misleading, or at least not straight forward to use. One of the things you have to learn is reconciling what appears to be contradictory information. One tip is to take distances in one part of an image to override what appears to be represented in another. If you watch this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oYBapxezZQ) video, beginning at about 4:30 you will see that the information used to complete the revolve profile for the threads is pulled from the front of the image by using linear curves as guides. These guides are then moved aside, the profile constructed, then spliced into the rest of the profile - the resulting profile has little resemblance to the threads in the image. There are other tricks but the important thing is to keep in mind that reference images can be misleading.

Good luck,

Ron

DavidMansaray
09-25-2009, 01:10 PM