PDA

View Full Version : Why not use triangles?

jozizo
09-23-2009, 08:50 PM
I was going through a tutorial on modeling a head (Blender) and the author noted that I wanted to ensure that I was using parallelograms (squares, rectangles, etc.) and to not get into using triangles. Why not?

I was going along just fine, but was using my own resources and images and such. I'm extremely new to 3D modeling, so naturally I made a ton of messes (but I'm learning a lot). The thing is, with all the extruding and such, I ended up with a ton of triangles. Why is this such a bad thing?

Like I said I'm learning a lot, so I think I'm going to remodel the same head a few times, so if I need to watch for triangles I would like to make a habit of it.

Doner
09-24-2009, 10:40 PM
triangles remove edge loops from the equation. You want edge loops because they give 'flow' to your topology. This is important for deformations and also adds a high degree of cleanliness and edit-ability to your model. Triangles aren't forbidden, but try not to have them as much as you can. I hide mine in spots one can't see easily. Behind the ears, inside the nostril, behind the eyelid etc..... Look at professionally modeled heads and try to imitate their line flow. I an constantly adding and re-directing mine as I model to make sure it will all deform nicely later on. If you are simply sculpting, then the only thing you should worry about is quads - lineflow doesn't matter much. Zbrush and Mudbox like quads.

The4thAggie
09-25-2009, 01:21 AM
See attached image. Triangles cause distortions when smoothing the mesh. Even as you go up in subdivision it only worsens (see image 2)

phix314
09-25-2009, 06:41 AM
They don't distort/smooth well. This has been discussed hundreds of times... I'm sure you can find many answers that may give more in depth responses if you search.

jakeh14
09-28-2009, 06:10 PM