PDA

View Full Version : HDRI Problem


heimelijkheid
09-22-2009, 10:59 PM
I've never tried to render with a HDRI before and am having serious issues. The HDRI i'm using is supposed to be a blue sky with some clouds, but the render comes out as though it were dusk. I loaded the HDRI into the material editor and instanced it into the max environment tab, and the vray environment tabs. Please help. Thanks.

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/2246/environmenta.th.jpg (http://img9.imageshack.us/i/environmenta.jpg/)
http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/7278/househdri.th.jpg (http://img199.imageshack.us/i/househdri.jpg/)
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/1600/materialo.th.jpg (http://img9.imageshack.us/i/materialo.jpg/)
http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/1779/settings1.th.jpg (http://img199.imageshack.us/i/settings1.jpg/)

phix314
09-23-2009, 06:12 PM
Looks like you just need to boost the exposure. In this case I believe you should increase the skylight GI override multiplier.

fxdfp
09-28-2009, 07:11 PM
if you're going to use and HDR file for global illumination, you must render in mental ray and assingn the HDR file in the GI dome directly, which is created via mental ray. you can then adjust the exposure in MR and it will light it from there. if you're just slapping a texture on a dome, then you don't need it to be an HDR, a simple jpeg will suffice.

phix314
09-29-2009, 05:55 PM
if you're going to use and HDR file for global illumination, you must render in mental ray and assingn the HDR file in the GI dome directly, which is created via mental ray. you can then adjust the exposure in MR and it will light it from there. if you're just slapping a texture on a dome, then you don't need it to be an HDR, a simple jpeg will suffice.

What and what?

One, they're using VRay which is more than capable of doing HDR so no, you musn't render in mr, and two, a simple jpeg will not suffice, as it's not an HDR image.

Rens
09-29-2009, 09:16 PM
A JPG likely works just fine as it's just a blue sky with clouds; there wouldn't be much range in there anyway if the sun isn't included.

Anyway, heimelijkheid, in the VrayHDRI map set the gamma to 2.2 and up the multiplier.

CGTalk Moderation
09-29-2009, 09:16 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.