PDA

View Full Version : Global Illumination and Slow Solutions in the Film Industry

Whirlwind123
09-14-2009, 08:10 PM
Hi all, this is my first post on CG Talk, pretty excited to be part of the forum.

1st Part of my question:
I am having a bit of a dilema. I work in the Visulisation industry and use V-Ray and pretty much all the lighting solutions we use involve GI.

I would really to break into the film industry but am pretty confused about how lighting is tackled in the film industry eg. Pixar (dream job = Lighting TD at Pixar and I am going to get there one day)

Is lighting in the film industry more like a 90% manual lighting (not sure what the actual term is) like Jeramy Vickery's amazing mastercalss shows where you set up each individual bounce light and then use AO nodes for depth. Or are the slow solutions taking over? The former technique is almost alien to me.

2nd part of my question:
Almost all training involving lighting and rendering is archiviz/product shot type stuff but I am looking for more 'film based' stuff.

The only things I have found to teach me this sort of thing is Jeramy Birns' DVD and Jeramy Vickery's masterclass. Both are great by the way. Is there anything out there you guys could recomend me along those lines?

PLEEEAAASSEEE someone start something along the lines of Animation Mentor but 'Lighting Mentor'!!

kanooshka
09-14-2009, 09:22 PM
Welcome Whirlwind123! I can't speak for the film industry because I'm not in it yet. But I'd recommend any of Jeremy Birn's materials including his book. He also has workshops here on CGSociety quite often. I'd also recommend trying out the lighting challenges here on the forums. It's a great way to learn lots of tips, techniques and you'll get lots of feedback.

Another good reference that I find useful is this site: http://graphics.pixar.com/library/ it can help give an idea of what's out there and what's being used.

Whirlwind123
09-14-2009, 09:55 PM
Wow great link kanooshka!