PDA

View Full Version : Programmer looking for Partnership with Artist (not making a Game or Film)

euphoria
09-12-2009, 10:07 PM
Hello all!!!

(MODS: please move this to the appropriate section if this is not it, I apologize for the inconvenience )

I have browsed this place for a few years now but have never really had a need to register until now that I have decided to start a new venture.

As the title states, I'm looking for a co-founder that has a pretty wide range of artistic abilities but primarily focuses on 3D artwork and animation (basically someone who is able to take care of the entire artistic side, from concepts, basic models, to fully skinned and rigged animated compositions). I have given this a lot of thought and while I could in theory do the basic models, skinning, and animations, myself (I love CG but at the moment it's just a hobby and I'm not very good at it), I realize this part of the project is just as important as the programming side given that the image and identity of the "virtual" characters is key. Having said that, I believe the project should be pretty exciting and flexible for an artist who is self directed--I would prefer to work locally side by side with the artist but I am aware that this place is full of very talented people from all over the world.

In short the idea is to create a virtual "companion/assistant" (I'm using these terms loosely) in the form of a creature (if you are interested and want more details, please don't hesitate to PM me). The starting platform for this project will be an iPhone application coupled with a web application, later to be complemented by desktop versions (Facebook integration through an application is also a possibility given that I have some experience with them). I'm located in the Bay Area, California, and if you need more information on whether I'm competent enough and what my qualifications are, feel free to send me a PM.