PDA

View Full Version : Get rid of the CGI look... how?

Oli4D
09-09-2009, 02:37 PM
Hello everybody
I'm pretty new to after effects, so I don't know much about it expect some very basics.
My question is:
Does anyone knows tips, tutorials, etc., how I can get red of the typical CGI Look of a rendered animation?
How can I get a more 'real filmed' look with AE?
Lets say with saturation, noise, etc.
Is there a good tutorials about that? "How to get rid of the CGI look"? ;)

Hope you guys know what I mean.
Thanks a lot for any advise, tutorial link, etc :)

Cheers, Oliver

scrimski
09-09-2009, 02:41 PM
Show us what you got so far, it's easier to guide from there on.

JonCG
09-09-2009, 07:14 PM
When you say the "CG look" what do you mean? If you're saying what I think you are it has nothing to do with After Effects. It has to do with your lighting, materials, detail, etc. from the 3d file. If you have a crappy model you can tweak it as much as you want in After Effects and it will still look like a crappy cg model. If you're trying to match the model with real footage though I would recommend grain and color correct it then show us what's the matter. Hope this helps!

Oli4D
09-10-2009, 07:55 AM
When you say the "CG look" what do you mean? If you're saying what I think you are it has nothing to do with After Effects. It has to do with your lighting, materials, detail, etc. from the 3d file.

Well yes, sure thing.
What I mean is the ultra clean look a rendering usually has.
Lets say you have to integrate a CG car into filmed footage... what do you have to do?
I mean, to smoothly blend the CG into the real cam footage. You know, a real camera has those things like chromatic aboration, noise, lens effects, etc...
Is there a AE tutorial about how to get a CG element into filmed footage?

Scott_Spengler
09-12-2009, 06:21 PM
http://www.subdivisionmodeling.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13176