PDA

View Full Version : help needed with custom attributes renaming


enrigger
09-09-2009, 08:50 AM
Hello everybody, I'm new with maxscript and I have a very stupid problem:
I don't find a way to change the name of an already created custom attribute.
I cannot delete and create this attribute because I have to keep tha animations on it.
Is anybody so kind to put me in the right way?
Thankyou very much.

Mathieson
09-09-2009, 01:46 PM
Do you need to change the name of the actual attribute def or do you need to change the names of the individual parameters on the def?

If you need to change the name of the actual attribute def, you can rename it in the script file, add the new def to the object without removing the old one just yet, and then copy all the controllers over through a quick script. If those controllers on the previous def are driving animation through param wires or script controllers, you can use refs.dependents to find those and remap them to the controllers on the new def. Once you're done you can delete the old def.

If you need to change the names of the individual parameters there are two things you can do. You can look into the remapping parameters section on the scripted custom attributes page in the help. Or, if the user needs to be able to rename the tracks on their own on the fly, you may want to use a list controller.

enrigger
09-10-2009, 09:08 AM
I have to change the name of an individual parameter, I'll try the second way, trhou the remapping parameters section.
Thankyou very much.

PEN
09-10-2009, 11:58 AM
The second way that Mat mentioned will work for you. The remap function is just for that.

CGTalk Moderation
09-10-2009, 11:58 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.