PDA

View Full Version : cg or not to cg

conciousdreams
09-07-2009, 01:32 AM
Hello cgsociety,

I'm 19 years old and i've always had a fascination for cg and vfx, but never really knew how to get into it. I moved overseas at the start of this year and by chance there was a course teaching interactive animation/entertainment. So i joined this course only to find it wasn't quite up to scratch. The 3d work i loved doing, but we learnt too little too slowly and it was costing a ridiculous amount of money. I've decided to drop out of the course and move back to Australia, problem is there seems to be no good places for 3d schooling in Aus.

So is it worth trying to teach myself through online tutorials (which im getting a good collection of) and then after a year or two, applying for one of the good universities/colleges in America/Europe?

I have no background in art, but im trying to teach myself through books. I'm having a hard time deciding if i should pursue a career in 3d, because i have no background in art and i have only started doing 3d stuff this year... i love it and im a quick learner, but its daunting to look at some of the work other people produce, and hearing stories about people with extensive art backgrounds and using 3d applications from a younger age.

Any help and advice is very much appreciated :)

Kanga
09-07-2009, 01:48 PM
Hi Sam and welcome to cgtalk.

You are sure to find the info you are looking for.
Cheers

Phalanx3D
09-07-2009, 07:39 PM
It doesn't matter if you are in AU, you can go to AM!

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=289&t=147156

conciousdreams
09-08-2009, 03:32 AM