PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Q (apologies)

niklmauz
05-14-2002, 06:59 PM
Heya,

I'm a total newbie to texturing and very eager to learn, but I have a question. From tutorials I've read on the net, it seems that the way you get a template for painting textures on to is to render every area of the model as a wireframe looking straight on at it as a .bmp in your 3d prog (I'm using Max) and then transport them over to photoshop, piece em all together on one canvas and start painting your textures over the top. Now I'm hoping I've missed something, because this method seems fairly crude. Is there a simpler and more accurate way of doing it (like using an unwrap tool and saving that picture)? Any info would be gratefully received. Sorry if this is a really obvious question.

Ta.

BoomRat
05-14-2002, 09:38 PM
There is a much easier way to make UV maps.

Add a UV unwrap modifier to selected parts and then edit in UVW editor.

As an aside, if you're really interested in this stuff, get a book titled "Modeling a Character in 3DS Max" by Paul Steed. Great book takes you through the creation and texturing process.

Ivars
05-14-2002, 10:31 PM
In max get the plugin "texporter"
to make a snapshot of your unwraped UV:s. Save it and paint in PS (or whatever software you use)

Remember that for a game-engine your texture must be quadratic and (dunno the correct term for it but....) either 64x64, 128x128, 512x512, 1024x1024 and so on.....

niklmauz
05-15-2002, 10:23 AM
I downloaded Texporter and it looks very useful. Thanks for the advice.

SeanW
05-15-2002, 11:14 AM
Textporter is good and all but its not going to help quite yet untill you have mapped your model. This is how I do it, this is the quick explination. Ok so your model is done ready to be textured