PDA

View Full Version : I'm struggling with a decision

dren
09-03-2009, 02:27 AM
Before you read any further, this isn't a "What's the best school?" thread. I've read plenty of those. and I thought a year ago that I'd be happy with my choice.

I am a student at the Academy of Art University, online part-time. My research must have gotten a little off when deciding on colleges because I wanted to cheaper college to go to. I knew what I wanted to do, and I knew what I needed to do. I suppose at the time AAU was one of the cheaper colleges I could attend. However, now that I'm looking at it, I don't think I can live with the fact that by the end of my BFA, I will have accumulated $97,000 in federal student loans. With my interest rate set at 6%, that puts me over the top at around $103,000 in tuition and other school costs. With a repayment plan of 120 months, that makes my monthly payment of this loan set to $850/mo. Can you see where I'm coming from now?

When I was deciding on schools I looked into many. As I am living in Iowa, my choices were slim. Another school I looked into was AnimationMentor.com. They teach animation and that's what I wanted. However, since they were a relatively new school and not many people had much to say about them I sort of just skimmed right past them. Now that I'm looking again, I really want to go to this school. I just don't know how.

I love AAU. The teacher's are fantastic and I have learned a lot over the past year. As little of time that is, I do feel I have grown as an artist. If the price were lowered I would have no problem continuing my education at this school. The fact that I love AAU is sort of putting a crimp in my decision. I almost feel guilty and I can't stop feeling guilty. I feel like I've betrayed them or even myself. I'm not sure.