PDA

View Full Version : A Few Big Questions...

Liamo0o
09-02-2009, 08:48 PM
How is it going CGTalkers,
first time poster, long time lurker. I am currently a student at University of California San Diego majoring in Interdisciplinary Computing Arts Major (computer science, art, cultural theory)

http://visarts.ucsd.edu/title/undergraduate-programs-icam

I have been playing around/ studied Maya for about 5 years now and have recently devoted myself further as I have serious questions about my aim in the future. In terms of skill level I have done a couple of the 'fundamentals' books, am working on an advanced texturing and lighting book, and have completed a good amount of online and digital tutors tutorials. I would say my skills are moderate in some areas and weak in others (animation, rigging, rendering). I plan on learning Maya more over the 2 years of UCSD I have left.

Some Questions:
I want to attend a VFX school after I graduate, my top choice is Gnomon, I was wondering if anyone could recommend a track - I feel I might not benefit much from the Maya Fast Track, and was wondering what people's experiences were with the other options available. cost is an issue but I am willing to take out loans.

my second concern is about loans, and the prospect of finding employment in the industry after graduation. I have no idea where my skills are at in comparison to what they need to be.

I am sorry for the long post and I know these sentiments have been echoed in the forums before and have been looking for other threads

taxguy
09-04-2009, 01:21 AM
My daughter attended the Maya fast track program and LOVED it. However, you won't get a reel from it. Think if it as a 10,000 foot comprehensive overview of 3d modeling and animation in 9 intensive weeks. However, my daughter loved each instructor who taught there and loved the amazing events that occur monthly at Gnomon in which she made some amazing contacts.