PDA

View Full Version : Gnomon: Entertainment Design Track?

kvanzant
09-01-2009, 06:55 PM
Hello everyone I am an aspiring concept artist. This is my first time posting here. I have a question about the Gnomon School of visual effects entertainment design track. Has anyone here ever been through this program or heard anything about it. I am guessing it is new. Unlike the High-End CG certificate program the entertainment design is not FASFA accepted and doesn't give a certificate upon completion. I went to art school half time for two years and didn't feel I was getting the education I was paying for so I recently quit. I am due to get out of the Air Force next May and am planning on attending at Gnomon. I have heard nothing but good things from the CG cert program, but I have heard nothing on the 2D entertainment design track. If anyone has any good or bad info on this please post it. Thank you so much.

Keith

taxguy
09-01-2009, 08:27 PM
My daughter took the Maya fast track at Gnomon this summer and also looked into the entertainment design track.

The Entertainment Design Track ( ETD) is not what you probably think it is. It is more of a fundamental, foundation program that teaches anatomy of the body, hand, head and creature drawing with some Maya. Since most art schools and art programs have some sort of foundation, this is the foundation program for Gnomon except it is geared more towards entertainment design and design for computer graphics.

I think Gnomon added this because they were previously criticized for not having courses in fundamental drawing and anatomy,which the entertainment design program attempts to remedy. Thus, it probably is a great program to start off with before you take the Computer Graphics program unless you already have the skills mentioned.

kvanzant
09-01-2009, 08:36 PM