PDA

View Full Version : Good track in Boujou turns out bad in Maya


DeWeD
08-29-2009, 04:08 PM
Hey guys!

(Hope this is the right forum)

Really am short on time here.
Sorry for that but I got good reasons (veery long story).

Anyway I have been sititng with boujou for the first time ever and have gotten a really good track :)
But when ever I import it (done it a few times) I doesnt really stick in Maya.
There is some sort of problem with the frame rate or lens or something.....
But I cant figure out what.

I need som help and someone to bounce this problem with.

So what do you guys think?
What is the most comon mistake?



Mvh
DeW

scrimski
08-29-2009, 04:33 PM
What is the most comon mistake?

Wrong framerate, wrong aspect ratio or wrong start frame. Some tools start with frame 0, some with frame 1 which can make a difference when moving sequences between different apps.

DeWeD
08-29-2009, 04:35 PM
Ok i will check it.

Also realized the footage probably is interlaced.
Could that have effect on the track when I iport into maya?


DeW

DeWeD
08-29-2009, 05:11 PM
Havent checked the interlation but as far as I can see all the other things are correct.

My fps is 25 in Boujou and in maya.
Boujou automaticly sets it to the framecount that is in boujou (this case 2001(dont ask me why)).
So it starts at 2001 just like in boujou.
Aspect ratio is OK.

DeW

DeWeD
08-29-2009, 05:16 PM
Didnt know what focal length or film back my camera had but I can see in maya that boujou generated one for me.

Where can I see it in Boujou?

Midgardsormr
08-31-2009, 02:30 PM
Since you're in a rush, I'll offer some possibly useless info:

I have never used Boujou, but in PFTrack it is possible to correct for lens distortion. If you then use your camera solve with the original (uncorrected) footage in Maya, the points will not line up properly. If such is the case, you would need to export the corrected footage and use that in place of the distorted clip.

Good luck figuring out the issue!

wesdood
08-31-2009, 03:52 PM
whoops wrong thread.

CCRider
08-31-2009, 05:41 PM
Are your tracking points slipping in maya or just the CG objects?

If trackers are slipping, it is some sort of sync issue. If trackers stick but objects slip you have a misaligned ground plane issue. Your objects could be floating a bit...

DeWeD
09-01-2009, 06:01 PM
Okay I have gone back into boujou and I did like 20 target tracks.
Then I redid some features and a new solve.
Now all of a sudden I get purple ERROR lines efter all of my target tracks.

Why am I getting these lines?
Have I made the track worse?


DeW

CGTalk Moderation
09-01-2009, 06:01 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.