PDA

View Full Version : I'm An Artist, But Not The Starving Kind

VTeixeira
08-27-2009, 04:38 AM
A very good article about school/artists/busyness.
Check it out.
http://www.newsweek.com/id/104461
Cheers

grantmoore3d
08-27-2009, 05:37 AM
http://www.newsweek.com/id/104461

Direct Link which avoids the obvious blog-spam.

bstout
09-07-2009, 01:29 AM
Nice one. As someone who has run the gamut of being pressured into working for cheap to free for "experience" (the experience of getting screwed) to charging triple an already high rate for being asked to work over the 4th of July, I think that teaching that business is an art is crucial. Michalangelo knew it, Da Vinci knew it, Jackson, Pollock and Andy Warhol knew it. "The business of art and the art of business" should be required course in every art school.

kandyRabitz22
09-12-2009, 09:32 PM
nice article. But the reality is almost every design job I find pays 12$ an hour and almost never has benefits. And that the fulltime jobs that pay enough to live off of are very hard to get. If I had to go back in time I would have gone to med school and been an x-ray tech or something. But its no surprise every industry seems to be trying to do more for less. it is capitalism. greed. The only industry's that seem to be growing are debt collecting and medical inudstry. And it in that light it strikes me as odd that everytime I change jobs I get less and less medical coverage.
Take the print industry for example. The competition is so stiff overhead is usually less than 5% on projects. Do more, faster, and for less seems to be the only way to bring in jobs. What happens when the overhead is 0%? i had a 20,000$ project walk away last week cause some one bid 1/4 of our price and we bid under market average to begin with. quality you ask? No one seems to really care. So yeah, 35$ and a six pack IS something to worry about.

spindraft
09-29-2009, 10:25 PM