PDA

View Full Version : AVCHD & FCP,do we get full resolution


Sapphire
08-25-2009, 02:34 AM
Hi all,

Did any one try to import AVCHD from camera into Final Cut Pro?

Do we get full resolution that is 1920*1080 ?

Thanks alot.

beaker
08-25-2009, 04:56 PM
It depends the camera. Some record 1920x1080, others record 1440x1080 and stretch to fit 1080p.

Sapphire
08-25-2009, 07:23 PM
Thanks,

I have a sony camera which records both 1920*1080 and 1440*1080.

So if I record 1920*1080 I get the same if I import it in final cut pro.

I was reading some where ( I think about iMovie ), before few months and they say if we import 1920*1080 , we get 1440*1080.

beaker
08-25-2009, 09:38 PM
I was reading some where ( I think about iMovie ), before few months and they say if we import 1920*1080 , we get 1440*1080.They are probably just referring to cameras that record 1440x1080 and stretch it out to 1920x1080 in order to make the files smaller.

CGTalk Moderation
08-25-2009, 09:38 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.