PDA

View Full Version : Modeling: Joan of Arc - Foot Start

sixeastmain
08-05-2003, 01:10 AM
I am going to attempt the Joan of Arc Tutorial at Michel Roger's website. I'm a newbie with 3D Studio Max and CG in general and was wondering, when I start the foot, do I create a Box w/ Box Modifier or a Box w/ Cube Modifier?

Peter

Stroker
08-05-2003, 02:40 AM
Start with a box.
Convert to Editable Poly.

sixeastmain
08-05-2003, 02:54 AM
So is that as a Box or Cube? See the Picture --> Creation Method Rollout.

http://sixeastmain.com/3d/Creation_Method.jpg

Which do I select?

Peter

Murf_Miser
08-05-2003, 04:53 AM
it doesn't really matter, your just going to be moving the corners around everywhich way in a while anywawy:rolleyes: , i would go with a box box that best fits the size of the foot.

Good luck

sixeastmain
08-05-2003, 12:41 PM
Allright, thank's for input from both. A Box w/ Box modifier it will be. I'll try to post how things are going as I continue through it.

Peter

Primitive
08-05-2003, 07:07 PM
It ain't really a box modifier, just a creation method.

As said before it doesn't really matter what creation method you will be using right now since you will have to move around all the vertices,

But box will be just fine.

Deathcricket
08-05-2003, 10:04 PM
I'm a newbie and am half way through this so I can help you a bit as well. First ignore what he says about mesh selects and mesh edits, just make a box the size you need and then right click> covert to editable poly. Then whenever he says to "cut" something, just go into edge mode, select the edges you want and click "connect". It will draw a line in between the edges. You can even put 3 or 4 at once!