PDA

View Full Version : Maya to Compositor WorkFlow

Seshi
08-20-2009, 09:38 AM
Hello,

I'm very new to the compositting world. Would anyone have time to explain to me how to go through a compositing workflow? I have Maya, Discreet Combustion, and After Effects. I tried doing it on my own and with the help of tutorials that I find online, but they never seem to work.

You don't have to hold my hand through the process, but if I can at least get help troubleshooting my process, that would be awesome. :)

We can exchange files etc so things can be cleared up.

Thank you
regards,

Gary

crispy4004
08-24-2009, 09:09 PM
I feel your pain. There are plenty of bad multi-pass compositing tutorials online that will only lead you to a dead end or incorrect results. This information is very difficult to come by, and in this case, you really do get what you pay for. Here are the resources I recommend looking into purchasing:

1. Maya 2009 Multi-Pass Rendering for Character Production (http://cgartistworkshop.org/Chris_E.html). This is actually my own tutorial. I made this because I found every training tutorial on the subject to be insufficient. I go through the entire process from start to finish and cover things you won't find in any other tutorial on the subject.

2. Digital Tutor's Maya 2009 Render Passes (http://www.digitaltutors.com/store/product.php?productid=3575). It's mediocre. Covers a lot of cool stuff with Maya's pass presets and refractions, but what they demonstrate only works in very limited scenario. You'll quickly run into problems trying to incorporate their workflow. Still, it is a nice resource to have.