PDA

View Full Version : Digital Tutors - Opinions?

lilnyc
08-19-2009, 10:19 PM
Forgive me if this has been covered, but I didn't see it via a search.

I am a Video Editor who took Maya for 2 semesters at NYU in 2003.

I am an educated adult who wants to get up to speed enough to create some simple 3D objects (product design-type) on demand. I freelance where I want to be, so I don't need to be good enough to compete with the best, just good enough to help out and do a good job when asked. I think DT can get me up to (basic) speed in about 3 months.

I am strongly considering a $500 annual membership to Digital Tutors for this reason. I have seen nothing but glowing reviews on Twitter, which I suspect are from the good folks at DT :) Hence I'd like to seek non-biased opinions here.

The new learning model at DT can be seen here (http://www.digitaltutors.com/09/index.php).

Please share your opinions.

danshewan
08-19-2009, 10:55 PM
I am strongly considering a $500 annual membership to Digital Tutors for this reason. I have seen nothing but glowing reviews on Twitter, which I suspect are from the good folks at DT :) Hence I'd like to seek non-biased opinions here.

Please share your opinions.

I'd say they're definitely worth a look. They tend to be very easy to understand, methodical, and often gradually increase in complexity so that you're never stretched beyond your boundaries and can keep up. The titles that I've seen personally also explored multiple techniques to achieve the same result within a single project, which is ideal if you're transferring from one software package to another, or want to explore additional functionality to fit your own workflow. Also, the sheer diversity of packages / topics offered offers a course for just about any type of project or skillset.

A definite thumbs up from me. :thumbsup:

lilnyc
08-20-2009, 01:14 AM
Cool, thanks foryour feedback, danshewan :applause:I think I'll go ahead and sign up.