PDA

View Full Version : masters in animation

nemotoad
08-10-2009, 08:11 PM
Hey guys,

I need some advice on furthering my education. I read the forum a lot. I tried to find an answer to my situation, but I would appreciate any further advice.

I got a bachelors from my local state school, majored in digital art and minored in architecture. I've been working in architectural illustration and animation for the last two years, and I feel comfortable with 3d software and overall illustration, but still lack specific anatomy and other "character design" skills.

I want to be an animator for the film industry, but my animation skills are quite limited and very basic.

I want a masters degree because I want to teach sometime in my future.

I would also enjoy developing skills in character design and illustration, but I'm sure I can do this on my own.

Here are some things I've come up with.

I've looked into calarts experimental animation, but I feel this program assumes I know how to animate already.

I'm also considering getting my masters in something completely different, like industrial design or illustration, while simultaneously completing something like animation mentor.

I'd be willing to get another bachelors in animation at a school like sva, where I could develop those skills and finish the masters afterwards, but this puts me at 5 to 6 years of additional school.

I took a few classes at SVA last year during my spare time after work, and I really felt that the student body was very one sided, as we were all artists in an art school and a lot of us had very similar experiences and views. I feel my experience at the state school provided a bit more variety as there were influences from vastly different majors. What I'm getting at is that I would prefer a university like usc over an art school like sva.