PDA

View Full Version : Formal education - how important is it?

NastyButler
08-06-2009, 09:50 AM
Hi everyone, first time poster here and I'm in search of some wisdom.

I'm in a bit of limbo at the moment in regards to my career, essentially I haven't really got it going yet. Here's a bit of background...it's a bit of a life story in brief so I hope you make it to the end....

I'm currently 25 years old and I've been interested in 3D/animation/vfx since I was about 16 and I've been drawing for most of my life. However I've had a real mish mash experience trying to get myself headed in the right direction.
When I finished high school I did a 1 year diploma of multimedia with QANTM (this being in Sydney, Australia) which covered all the web applications as well as a bit of 3D and 2D animation, but not nearly enough of it. After that I found myself with about 6 months of Flash work but when this dried up I really found myself in a hole. I ended up toiling for 3 years on loading dock without much direction with my career plans and going through some personal issues. This time was blank spot where I basically didn't touch 3D or even put pencil to paper.
Last year I started doing some work exp with a creative retouching agency that taught me quite alot about photoshop and 3D rendering/modelling. I scored several months of real work with them doing retouching and some basic 3D stuff. I learnt a hell of alot, but unfortunately things took a nosedive in November and the financial crisis left me without any work.

Now doing a bit of soul searching and I'm considering stepping into some formal training. I'm primarily considering a fine arts degree as I've noticed this to be a common qualification amongst the successful professionals I've heard of, and those I've worked with. I just see a real benefit in training as an artist first and foremost, then taking into the digital realm.