PDA

View Full Version : Washed out QT h.246 and Mpeg2 videos?


mjkennedy
08-05-2009, 12:01 PM
Hi,

I've recently been trying to export a finished project to both a PC friendly QT version (h.246 codec), as well as a mpeg2 format for DVD.

However, when exporting to both formats, my video gets completely washed out. The colors become desaturated, and the black levels decrease.

I've researched the topic both on CGtalk and google, but can't seem to find other people having the same problem. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks,

Matt

scrimski
08-05-2009, 01:47 PM
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showpost.php?p=4195763&postcount=4

There are a lot more threads concerning this problem.

mjkennedy
08-05-2009, 02:36 PM
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showpost.php?p=4195763&postcount=4

There are a lot more threads concerning this problem.

Thanks for the link. I tried it out, and it does seem to help a bit, but it's still no where close to the original. As well, I still have the problem with mpeg2.

Matt

mjkennedy
08-05-2009, 06:27 PM
So after more research and trial and error, I've tried these things, but still haven't been able to fix the problem:

1. Tried a gamma tag stripper. It tells me there is no gamma tag in the file.
2. Tried the solution posted in the link above. It helps a marginal amount, but still unacceptable.
3. Tried to use the x264 codec, but don't know how to install it so that quicktime can use it.

This links says it installs "quickly and painlessly into quicktime". I haven't had so much luck.

http://provideocoalition.com/index.php/cmg_blogs/story/brightness_issues_with_h264_quicktime_movies/ (http://provideocoalition.com/index.php/cmg_blogs/story/brightness_issues_with_h264_quicktime_movies/)

4. Tried using to free video converter SUPER and using the x264 codec inside that. I still get the washed out problem.

... Surely there must be some way to fix this problem.

I've spent so much time messing with quicktime that I haven't even gotten time to research to mpeg2 wash out problem.

Matt

avak
08-06-2009, 07:10 AM
I also had the same problem and at the end I used sorenson video 3 and animation codeck.

CGTalk Moderation
08-06-2009, 07:10 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.