PDA

View Full Version : How could you do Post DOF with Motion Blur


pete
08-01-2009, 02:42 AM
Hi there,
I have run into this problem a few times and I was wondering if anyone had a good solution. I'm using frischluft DOF (which works great by the way!) but I cant think of a good way to use it with motion blur... The problem is that if you have motion blur on a depth pass it messes up the depth information.
Has anyone else had this problem?
Thanks
Pete

DoubleSupercool
08-02-2009, 02:26 AM
You would need to render out a motion vector pass. Most comping apps have a node or effect that can take the information from the subsequent colour channels to drive the 2D motion blur.

There's a good visual example of this in the latest Pigeon Impossible podcast. Not detailed, but explains the idea:

http://blog.pigeonimpossible.com/?p=203

pete
08-02-2009, 04:06 AM
Yes but I don't think that would work well after it has been blurred by the Depth of Field...
I found there's a Frantic Films page about getting it to work by doing them both in the same plugin.
http://www.franticfilms.com/software/support/awake/motion_depth_blur.php
But I don't know any more about that. Also I'd still like to use frischluft if possible because it's pretty cool...

DoubleSupercool
08-03-2009, 12:06 AM
Ahhh, I see what you are saying? Bit of a monkey puzzle that one, I will have to think about it. You should shoot Lucas (Pigeon Impossible) an email. I know that he rendered out the sets in layers (background, midground, foreground) so he may have done a fake DOF in post on separate layers and left the motion blur for the hero characters.

CGTalk Moderation
08-03-2009, 12:06 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.