PDA

View Full Version : Noob who doesn't know where to begin...

facechubb
07-30-2009, 11:13 PM
Hey there everyone. My name is Shaun, and I'm a noob to this website, and this forum, and thought that my question(s) would probably fit best here.

Well, here goes! I've been drawing since I was around 8 or 9 I suppose, and have always retained a great respect and deep passion and interest in art. Especially comics and the types of Digital Paintings that you see on websites like this one. I took several breaks from drawing (especially during high school), and realize now how incredibly foolish that was. I'm realizing that art and drawing is the one thing that I find myself adept at. I don't feel comfortable with any other skills, and I really can't think of a career that would suit me at all other than working in some area of art.

I am set on this as a full time career and passion, and don't really want anything else. But I'm feeling extremely discouraged, and really have absolutely no idea where to start. I'm 20 years old, and have no experience in digital painting at all. I just bought a Wacom Intuos4, I have a great computer, and I have plenty of drawing skill.

I guess what I'm saying is, I have all the tools, but none of the knowledge or experience, and I would really like to know what to do to start on this epic journey to create the images I see in my head every second of every day.

I've been browsing this site for many days and hours, an have gained a great deal of info, but I am, more than anything else, overwhelmed with the vast amount of knowledge that I feel like I need at my fingertips on a moments notice.

I'm flustered and confounded, and feel late in the game, but if I could be pointed in the right direction, I'd be willing to slave to get where I want to get.

So, what should I be focusing on? I know I need to practice practice practice, but what exactly am I practicing? What of all the megatons of things I've read should I start with?