PDA

View Full Version : how!!!


shockeddesign
07-31-2003, 01:34 PM
I know I may be asking way to many questions at once, but I'm at the point where I know the basics well enough to create something decent.

I'm sure all of you lightwavers have seen this bunny (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=75300). The reason why I have brought this model up is because its new and most have been familiar with it. I'm so curious on how in the hell you would go about modeling something like that, not to mention the smoothness of the bunny in the final render.

Just quickly explain what goes about that. I know how you should set up a drawing etc, so you know the base of what your trying to model. But how exactly would you get something nicely done like that.

*edit*
start with a box? or what?

-Joe

timsvw
07-31-2003, 01:42 PM
I would go download userdelta's tut from lightwave3d.com. It is hard to explaine exactly how you would model something like that in only words. I would start with a box or just a square plane and start bandsawing, smoothshifting and pulling out the detail. The best way to learn is get some good tuts and dive in. Then if you put the work and time in you can start making some really cool things.

-Tim

xtrm3d
07-31-2003, 02:56 PM
humm ?
hi.. i dont see any picture ...
can you please post a link ?

shockeddesign
07-31-2003, 03:04 PM
xtrm3d, it was ur post of the bunny that inspired me. I dont' have a picture to post, I just want further notice. Because I have tried several times to make nice looking objects but nothing ever seems to come out right.

xtrm3d
07-31-2003, 03:28 PM
hey.. :-)
lol

glade to be inspiring..

ok no worry.. i explain you how i modelled the bunny..
just started with a 8 vertice circle.. and used only two main tool ..
band saw and point extander..
then move your vertice in the shape you want .. :-) easy isnt it ?
ok.ok.. just kiding about the easy part :-)


hoo.. and for the people who are curiouse about the subject ..

http://www.xtrm3d.com/temp/lapinrosewip6.jpg

shockeddesign
07-31-2003, 09:58 PM
how do you setup an 8 vertice cycle?

timsvw
08-01-2003, 01:51 PM
you draw a circle with 8 sides ;). You can select how many sides it has in the numeric editor. n is the quick key for it. So you could go created disk or ball and pick the 8 sides.

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/modeling/headmodeling/index.html

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/modeling/head/index.html

I would look at those two tuts and there a a lot more out there you just have to go to google and look for them.

Tim

shockeddesign
08-01-2003, 03:06 PM
whoops i read it wrong i thought he said cycle :)

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.