PDA

View Full Version : drawing splines


Alex Morris
07-30-2003, 03:55 PM
Hi guys,

attached is the drawing part of a script I am working on for creating universal beams

it has two levels of detail: the high detail level of the script keeps bombing out but the low level one works fine.

any ideas?

I would also appreciate some pointers to getting the pt1 and pt2 positions from mouse click and drag; of course if there is a better way of doing the whole thing that would be great too;)

Alex Morris
07-31-2003, 10:12 AM
OK this might have been a bit vague so here's a bit of further information:

The low detail version basically omits the fillets and the variables relate to the attached diagram.

I just had a thought this morning about using one rectangle and then booleaning out two others with fillets as a way of getting round the filleting vertices problem, but will have to check the help file to see if this is possible.

In the longer term I want to do a number of sections so the adding of arcs method still needs sorting.

thanks

Alex Morris
07-31-2003, 06:39 PM
OK I fixed it..........a couple of typos, doubling up variable b didnt help either and remembering to add the spline segments before defining knots for them.

Probably still needs tidying up though so any comments welcome

Incidentally I tried the rectangle approach but found that I couldnt boolean the shapes with maxscript.....arghh!!!!

Hope everyone is having a good time at Siggraph:beer:

Alex Morris
08-04-2003, 06:34 PM
Just checking to see if anyone is back from Siggraph yet?:D

Bobo
08-04-2003, 11:22 PM
Originally posted by Alex Morris
Just checking to see if anyone is back from Siggraph yet?:D

I came back 3 days ago...

Alex Morris
08-05-2003, 10:24 AM
Hi Bobo,

Max 6 looks pretty good - have discreet released anything on any changes to maxscript with the new release?

Any comments on the script?

amika
08-25-2004, 08:58 PM
Alex Morris, Could you please make it to be paramatic Shape plugin. Thank you.

f97ao
08-25-2004, 11:01 PM
Yea would be great to hear if they inserted any cool things for MaxScript7. MaxScript6 mainly got better help and was more stable, but disapointed me with new features. Most of the things I thought it lacked is still lacking.
/Andreas

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.