PDA

View Full Version : FXWars! NEORACE: Doerge, freeform

Doerge
07-20-2009, 03:16 PM
I'll try as well.

Got around 6 hours a day with nothing to do so why not have a little fun here!

I'm not going to waste time on designing a vehicle or all that, not when we are provided with one.

I shot a panaromaplate with a crappy camera, stitched it together using Hugin and some plugin for it so I got a 180 degrees plate from my balcony!
Placed it in Maya on a cylinder. Locked the camera so it can only rotate, and blocked out a rough camera-rotation. Used googlemaps to build up a very basic representation of the nearby houses, and started to animate a disc through that.

I imagine it to kind of jumping from rooftop to rooftop and maybe I will install some kind of hoops or something, for it to go through.

Also there is a lot of mattepainting to do as well to make it futuristic.

'nuf talking this is the basic idea, and I might change everything :arteest:
Concept Test (http://www.pixelflexness.com/cgtalk/initialTest01.mov)

johs
07-20-2009, 07:39 PM
Hi Doerge

It's a great idea to use a real panorama photo as environment. If you twist and turn the racetrack around and in between the buildings you got yourself a super cool racetrack.
-I'm looking forward to see what you come up with.

cheers

ParamountCell
07-21-2009, 10:22 AM
Pretty cool man , I thought of doing this with a jumping robot similar to the Nissan adds, but I thought rigging and animating would be a bit hard for me :( I am looking forward to what you have to show!

Doerge
07-21-2009, 01:05 PM
thanks guys.

I have played all day long with my little scene, so now it invovles 3 racers, a crash, and a hoop at the tall building they have to go through!

I am quite new to particles so I have spent a lot of time researching into that and playing with it.

Going to post an update later today maybe!

Doerge
07-21-2009, 05:32 PM
Update (http://www.pixelflexness.com/cgtalk/Test02.mov)