PDA

View Full Version : Question: Transparency in DFX+ (compared to Commotion)?

marchermann
07-30-2003, 12:48 AM
Hello, everyone,

I, too, am one of those Lightwave users that will get their hands on DFX+ very soon. At the moment I am experimenting with the DF4 demo. I have some experience with Commotion 4.

Here's what I was trying to do with the demo version:
I have a render of an object against a colored backdrop. As I have learned so far, there always has to be a backdrop colour in LW. I have picked green to make the problem more obvious:

http://www.themarcside.com/forumimages/transparency_1.jpg

The image has the following alpha channel included:

http://www.themarcside.com/forumimages/transparency_2.jpg

Continued in the next post...

marchermann
07-30-2003, 12:49 AM
In Commotion I can choose "Premultipy..." and pick a colour, the backdrop colour.

http://www.themarcside.com/forumimages/transparency_3.gif

Commotion then uses the alpha channel to calculate the backdrop away. Here's the result:

http://www.themarcside.com/forumimages/transparency_4.jpg

Continued in the next post...

marchermann
07-30-2003, 12:49 AM
I wanted to do the same in DF.

There's only a "Post-Multiply" button:

http://www.themarcside.com/forumimages/transparency_5.gif

This simply multiplies the RGB channels with the Alpha values. But that, of course, doesn't get rid of the green, as you can see in the result:

http://www.themarcside.com/forumimages/transparency_6.jpg

What do I have to do in DF4/DFX+ to get the same results as with Commotion?

Cheers,
Marc

Jayk2k
07-30-2003, 01:10 AM
Ok, i think i see what is going on here... and it should be possible to do via a channel boolean if i understand correctly.

I need to sit down and figure out the exact operation, but you should be able to multiply your image by a colored background and the alpha in your existing image to produce the same result. (Or negatives thereof)