PDA

View Full Version : Strange Behaviour of Cut Surfaces Tool


Raphael2
07-15-2009, 07:03 AM
Hello,

I have imported this surface

http://graphics.ethz.ch/%7Erafuchs/bilder/wireframe.jpg

now when I try to use the Cut Surfaces Tool from the Edit Mesh menu I get this strange result

http://graphics.ethz.ch/%7Erafuchs/bilder/wireframe_kaputt2.jpg

any ideas/hints what is wrong here and how I can create better cuts?

Thanks!
Raphael

GrogMcGee
07-15-2009, 05:39 PM
I'm assuming your talking about the dark spots that have appeared. Looks like a normals problem. Unlock the normals and set them to face, or average or soften - but unlock them.

Raphael2
07-16-2009, 07:18 AM
Yes, I mean the dark spots. I really don't understand why cutting the surface should cause changes in the normals at other places than were the surface was cut. Do you have an explanation for that?

GrogMcGee
07-16-2009, 01:52 PM
nope ... maybe if I could see the model file itself... could be some property of the mesh (eg, it has wacky normals...)

Did unlocking and smoothing the normals do anything?

CGTalk Moderation
07-16-2009, 01:52 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.