PDA

View Full Version : How to render MetaNURB wireframe for demo reel?


NanoGator
07-29-2003, 08:05 AM
Hey dues,

Gotta q, hope I'm not being too bone headed here. Hehe.

You know how in Modeler you can see your Meta-nurbed object with a curved wireframe? Is it possible to do that in Layout as an animation?

NanoGator
07-29-2003, 08:08 AM
Oh.. I might have figured it out. How about turning on "Show sub-cage patches" and rendering/saving a preview?

Is that how you guys'd do it?

NanoGator
07-29-2003, 08:14 AM
Welp that didnt' work as well as I'd like. It shows the cages but not curved heh.

BladeFX
07-29-2003, 08:26 AM
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=74200&highlight=render+wireframe

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=50533&highlight=render+wireframe

should be helpfull

Search Qry:
http://www.cgtalk.com/search.php?s=&action=showresults&searchid=557781&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending

robinson
07-29-2003, 08:30 AM
Freeze your subpatch object in modeler...
(try different amount of divisions there)
Use Quickshade in the render panel for your wireframe rendering.
Then turn on the edges options under properties...
Advanced tab in the surface editor, render outlines

sounds weird so far, ok still getting awake, but it is something like that...

any news on lw8 ?

NanoGator
07-29-2003, 08:41 AM
You guys are close, but the problem is that the lines are straight. I was kinda hoping to show the curved lines. THat sorta make sense?

I appreciate the response!

Ayreon
07-29-2003, 08:42 AM
freeze your object in modeler with setting of 1. In layout activate other edges and render in quickshade; Here's exmaple:


Ayreon

Edit: Ah, I was to late :D Well, curved lines, uuuh, well, hmm, nope, don't know how to do that. Is that possible in Lightwave?

Shade01
07-29-2003, 09:16 AM
Try object properties -> Edges -> Other Edges. The lines will be as smooth as your model.

artista3d
07-29-2003, 09:32 AM
Hey, Nanogator!

I've found one method for doing what you need. But this can be really tedious, since I haven't found a plugin to automate item 1 of the process. What I have done, with a simple MetaNURBed cube was the following:

1. Make a different surface for each polygon (this will be tedious for complex objects)
2. Save the object MetaNURBed
3. Load the object in Layout
4. On the Geometry tab of the Object Properties window, set the Render SubPatch Level high enough (something like 20)
5. On the Edges tab, activate Surface Borders only, and set its thicknes and the Edge Color to your liking
6. On the Surface Editor, select all surfaces, make them Double Sided and activate Smothing
7. Still on the Surface Editor and with all surfaces selected, set Diffuse to 0% and Transparency to 100%. Leave other values at the default
8. Render! That's it!

Test this method with a cube (just 6 faces) and you will see that it works.

Maybe there's a plugin for Modeler somewhere that will assign a different surface for each polygon. If you find it, let me know, ok?

Have fun!

artista3d
07-29-2003, 09:37 AM
Originally posted by GoodieBR
Maybe there's a plugin for Modeler somewhere that will assign a different surface for each polygon. If you find it, let me know, ok?

I've just stepped into this:
Diff_Surfs (http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1510)

I haven't tested it, but this can make your life easier...

NanoGator
07-31-2003, 02:18 AM
Originally posted by GoodieBR
I've just stepped into this:
Diff_Surfs (http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1510)

I haven't tested it, but this can make your life easier...

BINGO! That's exactly what I want! Thank you!!

NanoGator
07-31-2003, 02:24 AM
Oi. I just came up with another way of doing it that's a little easier. Create a UV map using the "New Quad Polygon Map" tool. Then apply an image that's just a rectangle. That pretty much does the trick.

I haveta say, though, there are little glitches in it. I'm not really sure that it's totally accurate either.

In any case, thought I'd throw that out as a sugg.

Triple G
07-31-2003, 02:30 AM
Here's thread that might help you out, Nanogator:

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=8484&highlight=Render+Wireframe

NanoGator
07-31-2003, 11:41 AM
Originally posted by Triple G
Here's thread that might help you out, Nanogator:

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=8484&highlight=Render+Wireframe

Ha! Cool!

jan_muentinga
07-31-2003, 01:05 PM
mhh, not sitting in front of my lightwave so that is somehow a guess, but why dont you save out an opengl preview?

cheers
jan

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.