PDA

View Full Version : caps cylinder


foomoto
07-11-2009, 06:32 AM
hiyo,
i am using a cylinder for organic modeling, when i scale the cylinder from the side view the cap detaches from the cyl.
is there something i missed when creating the cyl.?
do i need to post a screen shot, im new here and will have to learn how to post screens.
thanks for your time,
Foo

-DT-
07-12-2009, 02:32 PM
that sounds weird. which package of modeling software u using???
im using 3D max and i personally dont think it will detech from the cyl by just scaling the cyl.

perhaps double check the points/vertices of the cyl before u scale it?

foomoto
07-13-2009, 04:33 AM
I am using Maya,

-DT-
07-13-2009, 11:26 AM
i just tried maya.
i think u are using nurbs modeling?
nurbs cyl seems to have such problem. the caps and the body seems to be diff object.

foomoto
07-13-2009, 05:04 PM
yes that's correct, i am using NURBS, i was trying to do organic modeling w/ the cap, i don't know how to point snap the cylinder at the top of a head i am modeling, it was worth a shot,
thanks for responding,
foo

vancliff
12-15-2009, 10:32 PM
You could have used a nurb sphere instead. Or add more isopharms to the cylinder.

CGTalk Moderation
12-15-2009, 10:32 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.