PDA

View Full Version : Curious Questions for Game Level Designers & Game Character Developers

yvez
07-09-2009, 05:07 PM
Hello there! I'm new to 3d level designing...I just have some questions...

What is the polycount limit for creating each level area for a RPG Game?
In a RPG Game how big(Length and Width) should it be in meters?

What is the polycount limit for creating each landscape map for a Strategy Game?
In a Strategy Game how big(Length and Width) should it be in meters?

If I were to create a 3D Character for games should the height be about 160cm-180cm for Humans?

Also should I build a charater in T-Pose? Is this like a standard issue? Coz I've been wandering online and when I look at thr models mostly it's not in T-pose, should I be aware?

How many polycounts the RPG Game Characters should have for PS3, XBOX, Wii and PC?

Also, If it's mainly for a strategy game how many polycounts would it be for the PS3,XBOX,Wii and PS3 game characters?

Lastly, if you make games for these consoles do you start from lowpoly then iterate for more detail or highpoly then bake to low poly..?

Please reply each question with an answer as much as you can supply some links if you any. I really want to get In the Games Industry.

Katzenminze
07-12-2009, 01:35 PM
hey man
sorry to say this but your questions cant be answered properly.
but maybe i can give you a push into the right direction.
If you REALLY want to get into the game industry you should study game design or something similar and gather experience. modeling /working for games is nothing that you can pick up in 2 weeks.
that said i will try to answere your questions:

there is no set rule for polygon limits. its something the art director /technical director will try to figure out by his experiences based on what the AIM is.
you said RPG and Strategy games for xbox ps3 and wii.