PDA

View Full Version : Character Animations

NiPeR
07-28-2003, 09:15 PM
Hi!

I've been testing 3D softwares for a quite long time now and I'm really tired of using demo versions and I want to buy a student/educational version, because I'm a student.

I have been testing Lightwave 3D and Cinema 4D and I like both of the programs a lot. I have been testing mostly the modeler in Lightwave 3D and animating in Cinema 4D.

I will learn how to create character animations and want a good program for that.

Cinema 4D has a very great Soft IK system but I want to know if Lightwave has Soft IK system or something similiar.

If you know any tutorial where I can test Soft IK in Lightwave, or any tutorial on how to animate a character, only so I can compare the both programs.

If Lightwave 3D has better character animation tools, I pretty sure that I'm going to buy it, but I want to see which is best first.

Nonproductive
07-28-2003, 11:27 PM
Originally posted by NiPeR

Cinema 4D has a very great Soft IK system but I want to know if Lightwave has Soft IK system or something similiar.

I believe that at present - in LW 7.5 - soft IK like you are referring to is sort of a function of motion designer or a "follower" like plugin. (someone please correct me if I'm wrong)

However, there was a sneak peek at LW 8 that showed the kind of functionality by right clicking a bone. I didn't see much more then that in the teaser - so I am making a lot of assumptions.

I've toyed with the C4D Soft IK stuff in the demo and it is a lot of fun - I just ordered my upgrade to LW 8 (because I saw the DFX+ offer was back on the front page at newtek) and am keeping my fingers crossed that I interpreted the teaser video correctly.

The teaser link:
http://www.learnlightwave.com/ik_preview.mov

NiPeR
07-28-2003, 11:50 PM
Thanks!

Another question:
-If I want to buy a student version, do I have to be a student in a 3D school or can I be a student in any school?