PDA

View Full Version : Jobs, jobs, jobs?

dharmabum
07-28-2003, 03:45 PM
Hey, here are a couple of articles about the job market and how it's looks good for people in the industry. Sorry I cut and paste, I don't know how to add links. I'm an artist okay! They are found at www.animated-movies.com.

STUDIOS BATTLE FOR CG WORKER's

With everyone from Sony Pictures to Canada's Core Digital opening CG animation studios--casting wide their nets for talent in the process--a drought of seasoned digital denizens has left studios scrambling to fill seats. Core is in a frenzied mode staffing up hundreds of artists for Walt Disney Pictures' Wild Life, directed by Steve Williams. In an industry that totals about 3,000 working professionals, studios are hoping to add another 1,500 workers to staff upcoming animated features and visual effects films. The new crunch has left many wondering if all the people needed even exist. And once studios find talent, competition is so tough that salaries now range from an average $90,000 for those starting out to highs of as much as $250,000 for seasoned artists. "Right now, we're seeing the second coming of the industry," said Alan Botvinick, associate chair of Siggraph's Los Angeles branch. "We haven't seen anything as crazy as this since the early '90s, and it really makes you wonder where they're going to find all these people."

EXTREME RECRUITING

Studios are casting spells to woo a small pool of seasoned artists and engineers
By Barbara RobertsonWith effects studios moving into CG features, feature animation studios moving into CG features and plenty of effects work to go around, Siggraph is shaping up to be a recruitment feeding frenzy.