PDA

View Full Version : Symbol layered over dielectric material


BrianD24
07-07-2009, 05:13 AM
So I have a layered shader. The dielectric for the outside glass and the mia_material for the decal/symbol/ect are plugged into surface shaders so they'll plug into the layered shader. I plugged a plain tga with the alpha channel for the symbol into the mia_material, and put it over the dielectric in the layered shader.

This is strictly the dielectrics.
http://img34.imageshack.us/img34/833/23690288.th.tif (http://img34.imageshack.us/i/23690288.tif/)

With the mia_material, the file mapped to it and the alpha channel from it mapped to the refractive transparency.
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/6531/89296555.th.tif (http://img132.imageshack.us/i/89296555.tif/)

With the mia, only the alpha is plugged into cutout opacity, which seemed like it might work.
http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/2870/36829686.th.tif (http://img132.imageshack.us/i/36829686.tif/)

The network.
http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/7695/40140552.th.jpg (http://img33.imageshack.us/i/40140552.jpg/)

I've read how you can use mix8 or mix20, which I got to try, and put all the files in the right areas, yet they do nothing when I hit the render button. I've read from people on here how the layered shader works with mental ray materials anyway.

Guess I'm rather confused, the first attempt kind of works, but I'm not sure where to go from there. :eek:

nfrancisj
07-08-2009, 05:44 PM
it seems like you need layer Shader...comes standard with Maya.

Heres a quick vid tut I put together for you...

http://rapidshare.com/files/253321756/mrLayeredShader.avi


:thumbsup:
Hope it helps.

N!K

by the way...how do you post images here?

BrianD24
07-08-2009, 11:10 PM
Hey thank you, checking it out now.

You can use the file attachment at the bottom of the post reply screen, but I think those just put the images at the bottom. I just uploaded them to imageshack and took the "forum thumbnail" code, and just copy and paste. Easier to address each image this way.


Anddddd....
http://img104.imageshack.us/img104/9766/15053395.th.tif (http://img104.imageshack.us/i/15053395.tif/)

I think I ran into issues because I didn't think to change the color to black in the color balance. And also trying to use the mia_material instead of a lambert. Lambert has the simple transparency node in there, the refractive trans or the cutout opacity for the mia just aren't the same, and I didnt' see any overall transparency node. I guess the mia's overkill anyway, but I wanted to see if I could layer the two mental ray shaders. But this works in the end.

And wow, thanks for the video, that was totally unexpected. I thought it'd be a quickie or something you found, but that was taylored for my issue all Digital-Tutor style, I'm super appreciative :applause:

CGTalk Moderation
07-08-2009, 11:10 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.