PDA

View Full Version : Todd Grimes DVD ( what I made )

ptaverner
07-27-2003, 10:26 PM
I just finished the 3rd Todd Grimes DVD on Character modeling and animation.

The next DVD deals with Facial Animation, so this guy will look a lot better with something other than a blank stare on his face.

Anyway, here are the results so far. I just called him generic Man for now. I'll come up with a better name for him later on. :)

http://www.petertaverner.com/posts/lw/pose-test01.jpg

Peter

Infinity3d4life
07-27-2003, 10:34 PM
Very good job... I have those dvds as well...

ptaverner
07-27-2003, 10:35 PM
How do you like them?!

I'm a total newbie in Lightwave, so I thought this would be a good way to learn some of the tools.

roguenroll
07-28-2003, 01:49 AM
looks great, I have them as well, and there great.

nice super guy:beer:

ptaverner
07-28-2003, 02:13 AM
Thanks for the feedback guys. :)

I have a question..... I used the bones to move the cape around, and as you can see by the renders, the cape isn't showing up completely. Is this because of lighting? ( Like I say, I'm new to LW, so I'm a bit puzzled as to why the cape isn't there.)

In layout the cape only displays from behind. From the other views, all I see are the bones, and a hint of the cape. That may be due to my machine, or is there something I'm missing in the settings?

Any help with this would be great! Thanks. :)
Peter

roguenroll
07-28-2003, 02:28 AM
couple of things.

if its a single poly, you can set surafces to 'double sided', single side by default are invbisible on the other side.

but it does look like it shows in one of the pics, so I say, either up
the luminosity on the cape, or you can set another light, for just the cape, you can set in properties, to exclude objects such as the character. for a little tweaking.

hope it helps.

ptaverner
07-28-2003, 02:31 AM
Great, thanks roguenroll! That helps a lot!