PDA

View Full Version : Shave Hair in Maya 2009 passes?


RaeTracer
07-03-2009, 05:20 PM
Has anyone had success rendering Shave and a Haircut hair with maya's new render passes system? I've found that it only shows up in MasterBeauty and coverage passes, but get only black hair in beauty, diffuse, spec, reflect, ambient, direct irradiance, indirect and diffuse material color passes. Maybe there's a way to use customColor, but as Shave hair seems to have no shading group I couldn't figure out how to connect it. Any help would be much appreciated!

RaeTracer
07-06-2009, 02:28 PM
I still am looking for an answer to this - it's interesting that even a beauty pass will come out with black hair - only the MasterBeauty pass contains hair color information.

RaeTracer
07-07-2009, 01:57 PM
I tried a render with every possible pass type - none of them (besides masterBeauty) showed any color information, but these passes at least contained some hair data:

•coverage (white)
•normalWorld (vectors)
•normalObject (vectors)
•normalCam (vectors)
•mv2D (vectors)
•incidenceCN (white)
•depth remapped (B&W)
•AO

Puppet|
07-07-2009, 02:30 PM
Sorry, I have never tried Maya passes. But another way...
You may try p_HairTK shader that support passes.
http://www.puppet.tfdv.com/download/shaders_p_e.shtml

RaeTracer
08-21-2009, 06:42 PM
I'm still looking for an answer to this - tried to post it on the shave forum but they won't approve my message or answer emails. Rather frustrating!

cgbeige
08-21-2009, 07:11 PM
just email joe directly - he's really fast at getting back to me when I have a question. email's on his site - it's a yahoo account. heh

kybel
09-28-2009, 05:30 PM
the new pass system is only compatible with maya materials , and some mr materials with the _passes sufix ... but you can render hair in a different pass simple via shave globals. i suggest to try tweak it so it look as good as possible in a single pass , and render it in its own pass , then composite it to the final image

RaeTracer
09-28-2009, 10:23 PM
Thanks, I do think that's the way to go. I eventually got a reply from Joe that Shave isn't currently compatible with Maya passes - too bad since that's such a nice feature otherwise! I hope he'll consider it for a future update, though.

Sybexmed
09-30-2009, 08:44 PM
Hey puppet, i have your shader but i dont know how to use it for passes. can you link me to a site were i can see instructions?

Sorry, I have never tried Maya passes. But another way...
You may try p_HairTK shader that support passes.
http://www.puppet.tfdv.com/download/shaders_p_e.shtml

Puppet|
10-01-2009, 10:59 AM
You may find tutorial about passes in docs or online (http://www.puppet.tfdv.com/shaders_p/docs/howtomegatk_pass.html)
p_HairTK have same passes that p_MegaTK.

andy gee
07-14-2010, 01:47 PM
Hey Guys

I have managed to get passes from shave and a haircut. It is quite simple to do so the only draw back is that we loose a nice soft tip fade in doing so but that can be applied in post.

Here is how to do it.

1) select your hair display geometry and add this to a new render layer.

2) go to the shave node and turn OFF geometry shade.

3) Create a lambert, Blinn or some other shader that Maya passes will recognise.

4) apply this to the shave display geometry.

At this point you should have your character or object in this new render layer with the shave display geometry in it which we can't see but don't worry it will render.

5) Go to Shave Globals and set it to Hair Prims mode

6) Render with mental ray using Production rapid fur as it is quicker than standard production.

7) you can now apply your passes to this layer as normal with contrabutions and so forth and it will render on the shave hair

Just make sure you follow these steps carefully or it won't work.
To Note the Putte shader works great also, and according to joe alter, He will release a render layer version of shave for the next update so fingers crossed.

Here is a link to a tutorial and results :

http://www.digitaltutors.com/forum/showthread.php?20086-Does-shave-and-haircut-work-with-eth-new-passes-system&highlight=andy+gee

any problems drop me a line

Andy Gee

zerogee
07-15-2010, 07:04 AM
Do you use a blinn to shade the hair? Because if so then I do not think that it seems realistic... The p_Hair, muhHair and the other Marschner based shaders are specifically designed for fiber like objects and have a special specular in order to fake the reflection/refraction of a fiber.

http://forums.odforce.net/index.php?showtopic=2208&st=144

CGTalk Moderation
07-15-2010, 07:04 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.