PDA

View Full Version : still: Baseball Bat

bigjko
07-27-2003, 01:02 PM
This is a pretty boring picture, but it gave me a chance to fiddle around with texturing the bat with scratches and stuff. This is pretty much the first thing I ever have finished, and I'm fairly new at this, so take it easy on me. C&C welcome, I could use some tips to help me in future models.

http://picserver.student.utwente.nl/getpicture.php?id=223851

Cheers,

BigJKO

Shaykai
07-27-2003, 01:26 PM
Well for your first piece this is pretty good. Let me give you some good critiques that will help you improve.

Well first of all the bats specularity is way off. Its too shiny. If you look at a wood surface, if it has a lot of scratches on it, it usually isn't as shiny as a brand new scratchless wood surface. Also, some grain up the bat would make the bat look more like wood.
Also it looks like the bat is about to fall off the stand since the stand is so.. odd. I don't know if thats how baseball stands normally look like, but i would assume a nice level stand would be better.
The scratches look good, but i don't know why they would be on the bat... I mean, if the bat is hitting a round surface then why would there be knife-like scratches in it? Maybe its a hit mans bat? And the scratches are from his victims that happened to have kitchen knives?
I hope i didn't critique you too harshly. You show a lot of potential. Hehe, you should have seen the violin i made when i was just learning 3d, it had a lot of the wood texture mistakes that you've made. Good luck: :thumbsup:

Shaykai

bigjko
07-27-2003, 01:46 PM