PDA

View Full Version : Question: ┐Shadow control in LW?


AVENPERU
06-24-2009, 09:38 PM
The ik don't work fine.... when i parent to my model
http://img34.imagefra.me/img/img34/2/8/18/aven/f_rk7tl5r7dkm_0a1f61b.jpg (http://imagefra.me/)

But work's ok when i use null inestead of the model

http://img32.imagefra.me/img/img32/2/8/18/aven/f_1j9n3j19q9fm_2791f81.jpg (http://imagefra.me/)

The question is why??, How can i do to found the solution of this problems...?:lwicon:

NOTE: All the objects of the model are in one layer, and the pivot of the objects are Ok

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Old Question:

i saw the shadow control in XSI.. and it's so cool!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peI18FqIrms&feature=related

My question is very symple, how to do this in Lightwave? is it possible?, maybe you can do it with some plugin, i don't know....

Thanks for your time

extra: I work in LW 9.3 64 bits

aeres
06-25-2009, 11:03 AM
Using a combination of the vertex paint together with gradients should give you the same effects, though it won't be updated real time because the vertex paint tool is in modeler and you'll need to render in Layout.

AVENPERU
06-25-2009, 03:26 PM
Using a combination of the vertex paint together with gradients should give you the same effects, though it won't be updated real time because the vertex paint tool is in modeler and you'll need to render in Layout.

Thanks i will try, Sorry i'm a noob in LW, maybe someone have some tutorial about this??

erikals
06-25-2009, 07:26 PM
...tricky..., http://erikalstad.com/smiley/Notsatisfied.gif
maybe this thread shows some clues...

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=96634

AVENPERU
06-26-2009, 12:41 AM
Edit: I found this Blender tutorial about this effects..

http://www.scribd.com/doc/2052970/Material-Retouch

But how about to do this in LW???

erikals
06-26-2009, 04:32 PM
hi, here is how, you need to download the DP kit plugin (http://pagesperso-orange.fr/dpont/plugins/nodes/Additionnal_Nodes_2.html)
then follow what DPont says here,

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=99817

AVENPERU
07-01-2009, 03:42 AM
hi, here is how, you need to download the DP kit plugin (http://pagesperso-orange.fr/dpont/plugins/nodes/Additionnal_Nodes_2.html)
then follow what DPont says here,

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=99817

Thanks alot my friend =D

I have other question, i was trying model "anime hair" but i fail... i try do someting like this..

http://www21.ocn.ne.jp/%7Enekotom/image/nt190/nt1901.jpg

Reference images from here: http://www21.ocn.ne.jp/~nekotom/

How can i modeling that kind of hair...?

:hmm: Sorry for only aks question... but i'm a LW noobs

erikals
07-01-2009, 07:23 AM
um, it takes too long too explain i'm afraid, but take a look at these two...
but it is basically straight forward, though different approaches can be used.

http://www.geocities.com/Tokyo/Temple/2976/tu/tu_hair.htm
http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=11384&d=1083786676

AVENPERU
07-04-2009, 09:43 AM
um, it takes too long too explain i'm afraid, but take a look at these two...
but it is basically straight forward, though different approaches can be used.

http://www.geocities.com/Tokyo/Temple/2976/tu/tu_hair.htm
http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=11384&d=1083786676

Thanks again Erikals =D

I have other problem with the hair, i was modeling hair like this....

http://todlbq.blu.livefilestore.com/y1pLsFtyUBM835zVM8gNVGQ2tfoAr4h9ntE9kZ_xgRgfntMrC3rD1v-qYNbRQNlIxpGaCSxgaryV0ngisdq5o8DVg

But the this happens when i use the subtpach... i lose the "form of the hair" .... the "tip" (the end of the hair) looks awful

For example this problem happens in this images

http://img27.picoodle.com/img/img27/2/7/4/aven/f_hairm_9d9670a.jpg (http://www.picoodle.com/)

The end of the hair is softing by the subpatch.. whats the solution for this???

Karris
07-04-2009, 11:53 AM
The end of the hair is softing by the subpatch.. whats the solution for this???
You will need to add more loops and/or use edge weights. Read these tutorials to learn the basics of subpatch modeling:

http://www.lightwiki.com/Fundamentals_of_Subpatch_Modeling

http://www.lightwiki.com/All_about_Subpatch_Modeling

erikals
07-04-2009, 02:01 PM
true, but in this case it might work just to simply add more polygons to the hairtips.
it will make the hairtips more pointy...

AVENPERU
07-04-2009, 09:58 PM
true, but in this case it might work just to simply add more polygons to the hairtips.
it will make the hairtips more pointy...

You will need to add more loops and/or use edge weights. Read these tutorials to learn the basics of subpatch modeling:

http://www.lightwiki.com/Fundamentals_of_Subpatch_Modeling

http://www.lightwiki.com/All_about_Subpatch_Modeling

Thanks again boys, but i don't kwon how to control the subtpach with the edge weights =(

note: I work in LW 9.3

erikals
07-09-2009, 04:58 AM
um, not sure if 9.3 has edge weights, the upgrade is free though, so i suggest you install it.
also 9.6 has some good render improvements and FiberFX...

you might wanna look at this, not a complete tutorial, but gives some clues about what different methods that can be used in Lightwave to make hard edges...
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=901588#post901588

AVENPERU
08-03-2009, 04:10 AM
Hi again long time no see you guys, Thanks alot for all the advice, now i'm try to animating my first character but i have problems, how can i do for move the head and eyes of my character at the same time? because i try to " parent " or use the modifier " following " but when i move the head the eyes don't follow the head... you can see here that

http://img29.imagefra.me/img/img29/2/8/2/aven/f_18pt2pmojjgm_eb263a0.jpg (http://imagefra.me/)

I see some null for the eyes in this video but i'm sure about how to follow the move of the body if i work the eyes in other layer and in the hair in other layer (yeah, tree layers)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oGzIi6bRPs&eurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fuser%2Ffredygt2010&feature=player_profilepage

Thanks alot for your time again

erikals
08-03-2009, 04:59 AM
can't help you here, no rigger, go here though, www.newtek.com/forums (http://www.newtek.com/forums/)

and in the search field write "rig eyes"

AVENPERU
08-18-2009, 08:12 PM
can't help you here, no rigger, go here though, www.newtek.com/forums (http://www.newtek.com/forums/)

and in the search field write "rig eyes"

Thanks again my friend =D

I have a other question...

i have a problem with the leg rig

The ik don't work fine.... when i parent to my model
http://img34.imagefra.me/img/img34/2/8/18/aven/f_rk7tl5r7dkm_0a1f61b.jpg (http://imagefra.me/)

But work's ok when i use null inestead of the model

http://img32.imagefra.me/img/img32/2/8/18/aven/f_1j9n3j19q9fm_2791f81.jpg (http://imagefra.me/)

The question is why??, How can i do to found the solution of this problems...?:lwicon:

NOTE: All the objects of the model are in one layer, and the pivot of the objects are Ok

erikals
08-18-2009, 09:21 PM
:O
not sure, no rigger,

tear this apart maybe,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMF2SBmDkPk
(download link in upper right corner)

alternatively buy these
http://www.rebelhill.net/

AVENPERU
08-22-2009, 08:43 AM
:O
not sure, no rigger,

tear this apart maybe,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMF2SBmDkPk
(download link in upper right corner)

alternatively buy these
http://www.rebelhill.net/

Thanks again erikals

I get it with the limits of the Ik... what ever i finished my Character

http://img38.imagefra.me/img/img38/2/8/22/aven/f_137potf7ipym_5dd6251.jpg (http://imagefra.me/)


Yeah it is 3d D:...what dou think guys?

erikals
09-03-2009, 10:25 PM
very good, great modeling & shading :)

CGTalk Moderation
09-03-2009, 10:25 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.