PDA

View Full Version : Dragon/Dino Modeling Question

Infinity3d4life
07-25-2003, 03:49 PM
I wanted to know if any of you guys have ever tryed to model a dragon, or a dinosaur of any sort.. I'm interested in what technique you used to bring out the lower jaw piece? I have tryed it a couple of times, but i can't seem to get that look that i want.. IF any of you have ever tryed this, and you have a wireframe or could explain to me a technique that would work well please post back.. I can shape the top region pretty well, but bringing out the lower jaw, and having all the geometry placed in a good enough manner to add the detail is whats kinda confusing... Thanks for your help.. BTW i'm tryinng to start off box modeling this if that will help any..

peanuckle
07-25-2003, 04:03 PM
Well right now im modelling a Raptor. what im doing is starting with his mouth open so i can get all of his teath to look right. I didnt start with a box either i started drawing in polys around the eye and extending then out shaping the head, then finally adding detail.

hope that makes some sense

pea~

Freebooter
07-25-2003, 04:06 PM
Google Images for dinosaur skeletons. Look at the jawbone and work from there.

N

peanuckle
07-25-2003, 05:01 PM
Goto the local library also. Check out books of dinosaurs. They usually have good pictures of bones structures and sometimes good drawings.

pea~

Freebooter
07-25-2003, 05:06 PM
Right on Pea.

Also look for reconstructions of the face muscles, because they will help to get a good idea of how your edgeloops are going to work.

N

Zarathustra
07-25-2003, 05:08 PM
Try and find images of dino/alligator/croc skulls and see how the mandible fits into the skull and how the teeth fit into the mandible. That should help you get the general shape and ideas of how to fit it.