PDA

View Full Version : gloss effect in maya

dagrimripper
06-22-2009, 09:50 PM
Hello everyone

I'm totally new to this forum, and basically a total noob to Maya, but i have an assignment from work to do 3d scene, and i need to recreate the gloss effect found in the logo at this website (the red infinite sign)
http://www.virtualmissfriday.co.uk/VMF/Home

I have absolutely no experience with creating materials, setting up lights in the scene, or other stuff like that, basically it's a one time only thing that i need to do, so if you have any ideas i would be forever grateful if you could explain to me step by step how i can achieve the effect.

Thank you for your help

InfernalDarkness
06-23-2009, 07:18 AM
I think you'll struggle more with mental ray here than anything.

That infinite symbol has a lot of specular reflections. Meaning it appear that there are large, long tube lights above it. You can mimic this in Maya by making one or more large, long rectangles that glow and show up in the reflections of your main object.

As for glossiness or "shine", start with the mia_x_material and pick a glass or glossy plastic preset. Change the transparency and reflections until you're satisfied. Keep in mind that your object will need something to reflect for it to appear shiny, so you may end up creating a bunch of stuff to reflect in your main object. You can set those objects to not be visible in the render by unchecking "Primary Visiblity" but leaving the reflections/refractions on for them. Hope this helps.

dagrimripper
06-23-2009, 03:25 PM
Hi and thanks for the quick reply

I used the mia_material_x and selected "glossy" from the list of textures, and indeed when i render with mental ray i get a sharper reflection

I also created a long polygonal object to mimic the lighting, but i can't get it to be reflected on my surface. What kind of material/attributes should i give to it ?