PDA

View Full Version : mia_material/glass shader

BrianD24
06-22-2009, 10:41 PM
So I have a very simple wine glass.

Mia_material, glass solid preset, diffuse color is just a littler darker than white, glossiness just under 1, max trace depth 10, IOR is 1.5, solid is checked rather than thin walled, fresnel reflection is on, ect

Mental Ray, production, caustics with accuracy of 300, final gather with accuracy of 500, raytracing with 10, 10, 20 (turning those 3 up eliminated most of those black pits).

Directional light of 1, other side with a spotlight with .6, rim spotlight in behind with .3

All that gives me the image attached. In the camera attributes, if the background color is the normal black, you can barely see it, change it to a light gray, you see it like in the image. But it seems too clear, the bottom of the glass is very white on certain camera angles render. Seems like it could use something else, but I'm not sure what, this is my first time really using mia_material :eek:

H2
06-22-2009, 11:09 PM
make sure skip inside reflections is unchecked also

BrianD24
06-22-2009, 11:34 PM
make sure skip inside reflections is unchecked also

Yeah thats unchecked, forgot to mention that one

MAV4d
06-23-2009, 12:52 AM
remember its not all about the settings.

take a look at some reference and mimic it, work on your lighting

BrianD24
06-23-2009, 04:07 AM
remember its not all about the settings.

take a look at some reference and mimic it, work on your lighting

Understood, good point. I'm mainly a modeler, trying to get better on the lighting/shaders side of things. Maybe I'm kinda hitting a wall due to being a modeler and theres only so much you can model a simple wine glass. Attempting some GI and other things now, instead of the traditional 3 point lighting.

InfernalDarkness
06-23-2009, 08:10 AM