PDA

View Full Version : How to Symmetry Polygons

adam|zeliasz
06-22-2009, 07:07 PM
I'm new to Modo, coming from Softimage. Lets say Im modeling half a character split down the center. How do I create the other half?

It's easy in Softimage, Duplicate Symmetry. In modo I'm having a difficult time figuring it out even when I've gone through the manual. I tried the Boolean operation with the duplicated mesh, facing correctly on a background layer, but I keep getting an error saying that the mesh isnt closed.

Any thoughts?

And since Im posting; how do you create edges on a mesh between two points? Lets say I want to take a 4 sided polygon and manually split it by adding an edge between two points on each corner.

Thanks!

grimbtw
06-22-2009, 09:52 PM
1.duplicate tab > mirror tool.

2.mesh edit tab > edge slice (click on an edge to start then on another edge to join)

hope this helps!

adam|zeliasz
06-23-2009, 05:08 PM
Hmm... Well it works but it creates a new mesh. In Softimage you can create symmetry on an axis, and then have the verticies weld based on a distance. It's very easy to do. Anything similar to this in Modo?Thanks!

grimbtw
06-23-2009, 05:24 PM
turn on "merge vertices" checkbox in the mirror tool, you can specify a fixed distance in the box below.

ediris
07-04-2009, 05:43 PM
I'm new to Modo, coming from Softimage. Lets say Im modeling half a character split down the center. How do I create the other half?

It's easy in Softimage, Duplicate Symmetry. In modo I'm having a difficult time figuring it out even when I've gone through the manual. I tried the Boolean operation with the duplicated mesh, facing correctly on a background layer, but I keep getting an error saying that the mesh isnt closed.

Thanks!

I went through the same problem the other day , on vertex mode and with the layer of your model active select mirror , it will do it for sure. MODO is not similar to any other packages,but is powerful when you use it more.

Animasta