PDA

View Full Version : Wire Params


jeef
07-25-2003, 03:20 AM
howdy.

Im writing a script and I want to be able to assign a variable to a specific property of the selected mesh.

im selecting the mesh using pickbutton and i managed to get the WireParams dialog to appear but i couldnt return the, string i guess?

i was hopping it would return, for example, "$sphere01.position.x" and then i can assign my value to the x position of the sphere...

is this the way to go about it or is there another way?

thanks

jeef
07-25-2003, 05:08 AM
ok, i managed to, from a picked object, use getPropNames to add the properties to an array... BUT, these do not include the controllers (position, rotation, scale)

i then added the array to a dropdown so i can select from that, all good, i do need the properties but i ALSO need the controllers... any ideas how to get them? (looking madly thru help files as i type)

michaelcomet
07-26-2003, 11:22 PM
I think that .subanim[ idx ]
may be a better way to do what you are trying? I forget tho...

Also you can do .controller
ie:
$mySphere.position.x.controller ;

should returns "bezier_xyz" or something like that.

jeef
07-27-2003, 01:35 AM
yeh, but im actually trying to select the controller by not knowing whats there... what ive got works almost... just doesnt add the position, rotation and scale to the list

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.