PDA

View Full Version : New Modo user!!?

DB3D
06-21-2009, 04:04 AM
I am really new to modo (3ds max user) and while doing a tutorial I somehow shut off the sub D mode when you press tab??? I press and there is not smoothing, but it does say the poly count has gone up? did i accidentally press a shortcut that does something in the viewport to not display working in sub D? did i accidentally convert the model to something? thanks for any replies!

jrsunshine
06-21-2009, 04:20 AM
Make sure you select either the whole mesh or a portion of the mesh before hitting the 'TAB' key.

-Jr

Burritoh
06-21-2009, 05:21 AM
Yes, the Tab key SubD's your selection. So if you have a face selected somewhere on the other side of the model, that's what's going on. Just make sure that's not the case.

I suppose you could also have a duplicate piece of geometry in there that isn't getting subdivided. You might check for that too. The overlapping faces would hide the SubDs.

....or did you remap your Tab key?

DB3D
06-21-2009, 06:10 AM
To trouble shoot i made another cube in the scene, it subdivided just fine? I am very new to the program, maybe i did somehow duplicte the model over another one? Just barely getting used to the interface, is there something i clicked in the layers? Ive tried selecting the full mesh by clicking on the polygon area in the layers, then pressing tab, but still not work.

really lovin the program, im just in this weird state of getting the flow of it after using max for ohhhhh...about 8 years.

DB3D
06-21-2009, 06:10 AM
could i have clicked an option of turning off sub d for this particular piece of geometry.

Burritoh
06-21-2009, 06:37 AM
Not sure what you mean by "the polygon area in the layers."