PDA

View Full Version : FrameBuffer and Maya 2009 : with the first framebuffer is the framebuffer number 12 ?


bigbossfr
06-18-2009, 11:21 AM
Hello all,
I want to create buffer pass (with old method, not with buggy renderPass) on Maya 2009.
I create my mentalrayOutputPass in my camera, my mentalrayUserBuffer.
I use the p_buffer_writer from Pavel on Linux64.

But why the first framebuffer on Maya2009 is the framebuffer number 12 ?

RC 0.4 info : option: image type interpolate
RC 0.4 info : 0 rgba yes
RC 0.4 info : 12 rgba yes

I must create 11 "fakes buffers" for all working.
Other solution ?

Ironhalo
06-18-2009, 04:14 PM
open the outliner and turn off 'DAG objects only', there may be extra buffers in there. when you delete buffers through the interface it only breaks the connection.

bigbossfr
06-18-2009, 05:09 PM
????

There is no extra buffers. Create a new scene, create 1 buffer, mentalRay render the buffer number 12.
You will create 11 empty buffers to have a no black image.

bigbossfr
07-03-2009, 12:04 PM
Nothing ?
And why in batch render mode, all my buffers are clamped ?

Ash-Man
07-06-2009, 10:04 PM
Nothing ?
And why in batch render mode, all my buffers are clamped ?

are you using SP1

bigbossfr
07-07-2009, 10:25 AM
Yes ! SP1a.
Just try "normals" buffers (with p_buffers_writter for example), not renderpass.
You must create 11 empty buffers (with p_buffers_writter) and all buffers are clamped.

Try try !

Puppet|
07-07-2009, 11:50 AM
But why the first framebuffer on Maya2009 is the framebuffer number 12?
First user buffer is 12. Previous buffers are internal mr buffers like (RGBA=0, Z=1, N=2...)

p_buffer_writer shader should start from 12 buffer. (1st user)

P.S. First user buffer (12) by default already used by maya's glow shader.

bigbossfr
07-07-2009, 01:30 PM
Ok, so, we must create 11 "blanks" bufffer on the camera ?

It is not very clean no ?

And why all buffers are clamped in 32 bits ?

Puppet|
07-07-2009, 02:10 PM
No, in theory first buffer that you'll create will be 12 (internaly in mental ray).
Same with p_buffer_writer.

About clamping...
I have never tried maya's passes, but:
1. I know that maya always clamp image in Render View. So you should use Maya Batch.
2. I recommend you to disable 'Export Post Effect' in maya render settings. I recommend you do it in any cases.
3. For avoid conflict with Maya Glow shader (it always 8 bit and may override) you should start with second user buffer (internal 13)

From your first post I can see (from log) that your buffer 12 is not float.
"12 rgba", but should be "12 rgba_fp" or "12 rgba_h".

bigbossfr
07-07-2009, 03:41 PM
No, in theory first buffer that you'll create will be 12 (internaly in mental ray).
Same with p_buffer_writer.

About clamping...
I have never tried maya's passes, but:
1. I know that maya always clamp image in Render View. So you should use Maya Batch.
2. I recommend you to disable 'Export Post Effect' in maya render settings. I recommend you do it in any cases.
3. For avoid conflict with Maya Glow shader (it always 8 bit and may override) you should start with second user buffer (internal 13)

From your first post I can see (from log) that your buffer 12 is not float.
"12 rgba", but should be "12 rgba_fp" or "12 rgba_h".

It is not Maya pass (or renderPass), it is the old method (buffers method) in Maya 2009.
So, there is 3 steps :
- the buffer_store (the p_buffer_writter)
- the buffer_write on the camera
- the buffer_read on renderGlobale (framebuffer)

So, please test, you will see.
- i must create 11 "fakes" buffer_write on the camera
- the render 0 slot on the p_buffer_writter is the buffer 12.
- i set RGBA 32Bits in the framebuffer for each buffer, all buffers are clamped.

I think buffer_write of maya in the camera doesn't declare 32 bits buffers.

Please test, you will see it isn't work.
Framebuffer (old method, not renderpass) of Maya 2009 is broken (?).

Juste create a sphere, 1 buffer_write on your camera, 1 buffer_read on your framebuffer (32bits), et use p_buffer_writter (for the buffer_store).
You will see, it isn't work. You must create 11 "fakes" buffer_write, and all buffers are clamped.

CGTalk Moderation
07-07-2009, 03:41 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.