PDA

View Full Version : posibility of doing phd in 3d animation

rashi
06-15-2009, 01:30 PM
hi guys i hope this thread want be banned

im a sri lankan in sri lanka there's no art schools to do 3d animation(degree)

but i have a great passion and dedication for 3d animation

im currently studying to get to the computer engineering faculty in my university

so i would like to know is there any possibility that i can do my higher studies(masters/phd)i 3d animation?

thankyou

Couture
06-15-2009, 02:07 PM
There are Masters degrees, but from what I gathered are only useful to have to be able to teach at accredited institutions. As far as a PHD, why would you want one in 3D animation? I don't believe such a thing exists anyhow.

Kev3D
06-15-2009, 02:30 PM
I'm sure I've seen a few animations which were a major part of a thesis. You have to be a bit creative, it can't be just a 3D animation (how is that research?) but maybe it could be related to virtual reality, new dynamic solvers, faster rendering algorithms, etc.

rashi
06-15-2009, 02:55 PM
thanks guys any way i hate to be a engineer, coz my dad want me to be engineer,i just want to be a 3d artist but im not able to do my career in 3d in sri lanka coz there's not much industry here

so only option is to get abroad
and this cannot be done because my family dont have that kind f money

so the only possible way for me is to work hard and get to computer engineering and do masters or higher studies and get in to the industry

as long as i can do 3d stuff im happy to do what ever research and get into the industry:)

Paul McLaughlin
06-15-2009, 03:05 PM
I've heard of someone getting a PhD in animation, so I think it's possible.

leigh
06-15-2009, 09:11 PM
I've heard of someone getting a PhD in animation, so I think it's possible.