PDA

View Full Version : Teesside university help (please)

rockstar30
06-15-2009, 06:32 AM
Hi all,

I received an offer letter from Teesside university for MA in digital animation and I am planning to join the same. My course starts in September. I have several questions in my head can somebody please help me?

1. Is the course really good? I have also received an offer letter from Coventry? Is Teesside better than Coventry?

2. Since money is a major issue for me I will have to work. But will I be able to manage handling a part time job with the given course structure?

3. How is the university like? Is it a fun place to be in?

4. How is Teesside (Middlesbrough) as a place to stay?

If anyone has any info on this university please do let me know :)

Thank you!

ciff
06-15-2009, 10:11 AM
Hey Smriti,
I did my degree and an MA at Teesside, my MA was in creative multimedia, but my degree was more animation based. They have some great staff an facilities there. Do you know if they teach Maya there now? as it used to be soft or Max. I would say Teesside over Coventry, Teesside and Bournemouth are the leaders in 3d and digital Animation in the UK, their animation courses have been around since the 80's, and the animation festival at Teesside, Animex, held every February is fantastic, with people from ILM, PIXAR, Dreamworks, Sony Imageworks, etc there.

The city is ok, its not the nicest, but no worse than Coventry, and it is improving, the uni itself is very nice, pretty huge now, and the Student Union is award winning, so you don't really need to venture into town too much, but the town its self isn't too bad while the students are there.

Living wise, uni halls, or as close to the uni as possible is good, the outskirts are Rough! lol, so avoid them if possible.

Hope this helps, any more questions just ask :)

rockstar30
06-15-2009, 03:44 PM
Hey Chris,

Thanks for the suggestions... I will definitely keep them in mind.